The Return of The Last Classic

Last night I had a job interview.

At Chuck E Cheese.

The good news: I’m 98% confident I got the job!

The bad news: They want me to dance around as Chuck E Cheese himself for birthday parties.

The upside: It’s located directly across the street from my favorite mall in all of the glorious state of Texas!

The downside: During the interview I was hesitantly asked if I would mind going inside something called ‘The Tornado Tunnel’, and she looked relieved when I said I ‘wouldn’t mind at all!’…

Pro: I met one of the other applicants while waiting for the manager and I think we’d easily become friends!

Con: I would have to be in the dag-flabbit costume for 2-hour blocks of time…Did I mention they want me to dance?

I’m going back again tomorrow for a follow-up, here’s hoping it goes well.

Regular readers will notice something a tad odd about my blog today: it is back to its original title: The Last Classic

The blatant truth of the abrupt URL and title change is that I fell hard for a guy and then realized he wasn’t who I thought he was and I ended up (attempting) to entirely cut things off. So I made several sudden changes in my life, trying to make it feel like what happened was a chapter long over and ease some of my guilt. I don’t know why for a moment everything lined up perfectly, for a day or so I deluded myself with the dozen coincidences all at once that seemed to say he was it. But soon after happiness turned into a churning in my stomach when I realized how wrong we were for each other. I kept waiting for my gut feeling of ‘get me out of here!’ to fade and leave me be. But the more we spoke, the more I realized he wasn’t even close to the original image that was presented to me. I know it’s the classic story, but usually I call it from the start when someone isn’t as they seem. The longer I’ve gone without my true blog title, the more I feel I’ve lost Classic. Gripping to the alias still to the point where I could not change my username or blog signature comfortably. And so, here we are, back to The Last Classic, not cemented in the past and regrets and scenarios that by human error could not have been prevented, but moving upward and onward into what waits ahead.

I’ll write ya’ll again soon enough,

–Classic