The Last Post

This is my last post on The Last Classic until August.

While the blog URLs have changed repeatedly, the title of the blog, and my username have remained the same. The Last Classic is my anchor. My source for comfort and advice. A place where I can tell stories, my stories.

This is the end of a giant chapter in my life. I hate change. I truly, truly hate change. But this is what I want. This Summer I turn eighteen, Heather gets married and I leave the state. I’m leaving because I want a clean slate, a fresh start.

This whole thing started for a lot of reasons, but I can’t deny it started simply because I was a kid with some time on her hands, a computer nearby and a knack for writing.

Ya’ll know how to get in touch with me – I have a Twitter, and my e-mail address is on my Gravatar profile (contact me any time!). I’ll probably comment on your blogs throughout the Summer using my other blog account, so just look out for Hannah-Elizabeth, instead of Classic. My other blog, unlike The Last Classic, is not going to be a secret from my family, so I won’t be writing as freely as I do here. I will be posting and continuing the People Who Read People series on the other blog. As soon as some recent personal difficulties have cleared up, I’ll start posting on the new blog and tell ya’ll the URL.

I’m sad. Today I’ve reached the point of no return. I hate change – have I told you that? I hate knowing how soon I’ll have to say goodbye. And I’m afraid of how scared I’ll be to leave everything behind on my own. It’s one thing when it’s all just an idea, just a notion, just a pleasant thought to escape to on difficult days. But when it’s real, when there is no turning back, it’s easy to just wake up in the middle of the night from a nightmare, and just keep looking around my room at familiar things. Over and over and over. I know that wall. I arranged the books on that shelf. I stared out of those windows for hours during the last heavy storm. And I begin thinking about how one day I’ll wake up, and I can’t look around at familiar things. I can never again wake up to the sound of my alarm and tell myself I need to get ready for church, because Heather will drive up soon to take us there. I can’t be annoyed at the sound of my brother playing his guitar at two in the morning. I will be alone, but I have no regrets.

Until August,

–Hannah-Elizabeth/Classic

11 thoughts on “The Last Post

  1. growing up is hard but we all have to do it at some time. I wish you much luck with your choices and hope to read more from you in the future. You are a really good writer and I have enjoyed your blog!

  2. Better days ahead! Find all the good you dream welcome every necessary change that comes you way. Without change, there would be nothing like “better”. Cheer up!

  3. Sad, I just started following your blog. Change is difficult but hopefully you can grow from your experience. Look forward to reading about it this August.

  4. Oh, don’t be afraid, but I know how you feel! Don’t look too far ahead…concentrate on today and tomorrow! As I say “One day at a time!”. Looking ahead too far can be daunting! Things will fall into place. I will miss your posts! You can contact me anytime you want as well! I wish you well! Take care and lots of love!

  5. You reminded me of changing colleges and majors after my sophomore year. I was doing well on a nice, safe, academic track, but I had no passion for it. So I arranged everything and moved, and got to the new college town early, found a place to live – and started having nightmares. Would wake up in the middle of the night, thinking, “Oh no, what have I done?”

    In retrospect, it was one of the best choices I’ve ever made. Not every dream (or nightmare) is “true.” I’m sure you know Joseph Campbell’s “Hero myth.” You are answering your “Call to Adventure.” I look forward to your August posts.

  6. Change is good, you can’t do everything forever. Thanks for the thoughts and enjoy the shit out of the summer! (Can’t be appropriate on my last comment…)

Leave a comment