Off Of My Teeter-Totter

     You know when you’re on a teeter-totter with your best friend, and somewhere along the game of ups and downs and back again, the two of you for a moment allow each other to sit at even length, perfectly balanced, perfectly calm? Or that zen-like still moment when you first open the blinds early in the morning? The sun caressing your face in an instant, lingering and warming your skin, and for a moment, all is quiet, all is calm, all is still.

I don’t like feeling off-balance from my teeter-totter of research or my sunshine of delving into depths of information. And yet, so easily, even spending too much time with other humans, I find that I have fallen off of the gentle and sure balance of knowing that I am who I should be. I’ve said it many times, in many ways, to many people, and even to my trusty little leather notebook I scribbled the words:

     I feel as though who I am meant to be, is who I am when I am in pursuit of the truth, of answers.

But more than that, it’s when I’m pursuing information in and of itself. When it’s just me and my books and my piles of chicken-scratch notes. Why is it so easy for me to fall away from that state of self? Here I am, off of my teeter-totter.

I think this moment, as I’m writing this, is one of the reasons I so entirely love writing, love blogging, love WordPress.

Because this is a place where one can go and document a flicker in time that says, “I’m not okay right now, and this is how my heart feels.” And then the next public journal entry smiles softly and nods while quietly speaking, “I’m going to be okay, it’s alright.”

Talk to ya’ll soon,

–Classic/Hannah-Elizabeth

One thought on “Off Of My Teeter-Totter

Leave a Reply

